San Mateo Astronomical Society

San Mateo County Astronomical Society

There is now a new SMCAS website at:
    http://www.smcasastro.com/

ALCOAT Newsletter

Index:

August, 2017

July, 2017

June, 2017

May, 2017

April, 2017

March, 2017

February, 2017

January, 2017

Pages back to 2002 available.

 

2017 Solar Eclipse
 



-------- Original Message --------
Subject: [mhadm] Exploratorium Eclipse Press Kit
Date: Fri, 18 Aug 2017 05:07:13 -0400
From: Martin Rock <mrock@exploratorium.edu>
To: mhadm@ucolick.org

http://www.ecsite.eu/sites/default/files/exploratorium.gif

For Immediate Release:

Aug 18, 2017

Contact:

Martin Rock (415) 528-4327

mrock@exploratorium.edu

Exploratorium Eclipse Press Kit

Information on the Exploratorium’s five live eclipse feeds, access to
talent, and links to video and photo assets for media

Screen Shot 2017-08-14 at 12.53.29 PM

GENERAL INFORMATION

overview

The Exploratorium, a leading science learning laboratory and museum in
San Francisco, is producing five live feeds of the Great American
Eclipse on August 21^st, 2017. The feeds will be available to the public
and media organizations via Satellite, the Switch, and by downloading
the Total Solar Eclipse App
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/explore/apps/total-solar-eclipse-app) or
visiting the Exploratorium’s Eclipse Web Page
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/eclipse) and will consist of: 1. A
telescope feed from Casper, Wyoming; 2. A telescope feed from Madras,
Oregon; 3. A one-hour English language educational eclipse program with
scientific explanations by Exploratorium and NASA scientists; 4. A
one-hour Spanish language educational eclipse program with scientific
explanations by Exploratorium scientists; 5. Live performance by Kronos
Quartet
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/press-office/press-releases/eclipse-sonification-kronos-quartet-offers-chance-listen-%E2%80%9Cmusic-spheres%E2%80%9D)
and eclipse sonification from San Francisco.

The eclipse feeds will be available to media via satellite
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/eclipse/satellite) or by embedding the
Exploratorium’s feeds directly onto websites. The Kronos Quartet feed
will be available directly off the Switch. For more information, contact
the Exploratorium’s press office at media@exploratorium.edu
(mailto:media@exploratorium.edu) .

total solar eclipse app

The Total Solar Eclipse App
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/explore/apps/total-solar-eclipse-app) ,
produced by the renowned Exploratorium (https://www.exploratorium.edu/)
in San Francisco, includes an interactive map, safe-viewing techniques,
and the ability to view the eclipse live from internet-connected phones
and tablets. The app also enables users to move seamlessly between the
Exploratorium’s five live streams of the eclipse, which include direct
telescope feeds from Wyoming and Oregon, English and Spanish programs
featuring scientists from the Exploratorium and NASA, and a sonification
of the eclipse
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/press-office/press-releases/eclipse-sonification-kronos-quartet-offers-chance-listen-%E2%80%9Cmusic-spheres%E2%80%9D)
with a live performance by Kronos Quartet at the Exploratorium’s home on
the San Francisco waterfront. In “social mode,” users can engage with
communities via social media using preloaded hashtags even while viewing
live and recorded eclipse videos. The release of the app is part of the
Exploratorium’s large-scale education initiative, supported by NASA,
around the coming total solar eclipse on August 21, 2017.

eclipse programming at the exploratorium in san francisco

 From San Francisco, the moon will only partly cover the Sun—a partial
eclipse—but the Exploratorium will open early at 9:00 AM and will have
telescopes and solar safety glasses on our Plaza for viewing, and
astronomers from NASA Ames and The Planetary Society available to answer
questions. Visitors will have an opportunity to learn about solar
eclipses and observe a partial solar eclipse outside on the
Exploratorium’s Plaza, but they’ll also be able to head inside to watch
the Exploratorium’s live programming of the Eclipse from Casper, WY and
Madras, OR on large screens that will be set up throughout the museum.
Last, though the tickets have already sold out, the Exploratorium is
hosting Kronos Quartet for an eclipse sonification and musical
performance by the world-famous musicians.

5 LIVE FEEDS: DETAILS AND ACCESS INFORMATION

All feeds are available for streaming on the Exploratorium’s Total Solar
Eclipse App
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/explore/apps/total-solar-eclipse-app) and
the Exploratorium’s Eclipse Web Page
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/eclipse) . Select feeds are also
available to media on Galaxy 3 Satellite and the Switch (details at:
http://www.exploratorium.edu/satellite). Individuals and organizations
are also welcome to embed our feed directly (details at:
https://www.exploratorium.edu/eclipse/2017-live-stream-help)

telescope views from oregon: mos | 2.75 hours beginning at 16:00 utc /
9:00 am pdt

Start: 16:00UT, 9:00am PDT, 10:00am MDT, 12:00pm EDT ||  End: 18:45UT,
11:45am PDT, 12:45pm MDT, 2:45pm EDT || 1^st contact at 16:06, totality
at 17:19, 4^th contact at 18:41

· Live MOS (soundless) feed of the eclipse from 4 telescopes on the
ground in Madras, Oregon
· 4 Telescopes include: white light and Hydrogen-Alpha filters;
full-disc and quarter-disc
· Uses: television news programs; showing on public monitors; embedding
in your website; ‘capturing’ to post on social media
· Available on Galaxy 3 Satellite and by embedding

telescope views from wyoming: mos | 3 hours beginning at 16:15 utc /
9:15 pdt
Start: 16:15UT, 9:15am PDT, 10:15am MDT, 12:15pm EDT ||  End: 19:15UT,
12:45am PDT, 1:15pm MDT, 3:15pm EDT || 1^st contact at 16:22, totality
at 17:42, 4^th contact at 19:09

· Live MOS (soundless) feed of the eclipse from 4 telescopes on the
ground in Madras, Oregon
· 4 Telescopes include: white light and Hydrogen-Alpha filters;
full-disc and quarter-disc
· Uses: television news programs; showing on public monitors; embedding
in your website; ‘capturing’ to post on social media
· Available on Galaxy 3 Satellite
(http://www.exploratorium.edu/satellite) , the Switch, and by embedding

1-hour english language educational program (based in oregon, featuring
wyoming)

Start:  17:00 UT, 10:00 PDT, 11:00am MDT, 1:00pm EDT // End:  18:00 UT,
11:00 PDT, 12:00 MDT, 2:00pm EDT

· Featuring interviews with eclipse chasers, Exploratorium and NASA
Scientists, and totality from two locations
· General information about the eclipse, path of totality, and
safe-viewing techniques
· Explore NASA's upcoming Solar Probe Plus mission with NASA scientist
Dr. Eric Christian
· Hosts: NASA Education Specialist, Dr. Hakeem Oluseyi and
Exploratorium’s Dr. Rob Semper
· High-dynamic-range live eclipse video streams from four telescopes at
each location
· Uses: viewing in schools and community eclipse events, eclipse
parties, online viewers wanting to learn about eclipses while seeing
live views of eclipse from telescope feeds
· Available on Galaxy 3 Satellite
(http://www.exploratorium.edu/satellite) and by embedding

1-hour spanish language educational program (based in oregon, featuring
wyoming)

Start:  17:00 UT, 10:00 PDT, 11:00am MDT, 1:00pm EDT // End:  18:00 UT,
11:00 PDT, 12:00 MDT, 2:00pm EDT

· Featuring interviews with eclipse chasers, Exploratorium and NASA
Scientists, and totality from two locations
· Hosts: Bay Area Univision Host and Emmy Award winner, Kira Vilanova,
and Dr. Isabel Hawkins providing informal commentary about the eclipse,
path of totality, and safe-viewing techniques
· NASA's upcoming Solar Probe Plus mission with Dr. Eric Christian
· High-dynamic-range live eclipse video streams from four telescopes at
each location
· Uses: Spanish-speaking audiences viewing in schools and community
eclipse events, eclipse parties, online viewers wanting to learn about
eclipses while seeing live views of eclipse from telescope feeds
· Available on Galaxy 3 Satellite
(http://www.exploratorium.edu/satellite) and by embedding

3-HOUR SONIFICATION WITH 30-MINUTE KRONOS QUARTET PERFORMANCE (BASED IN
SAN FRANCISCO)

· Video feed: same as telescope views from wyoming
· In addition to the sonification, in the 30-mins surrounding totality,
the Kronos Quartet will be adding a live musical score.
· Live video is converted into raw data, which is then converted into
sound. This computer-created ‘sonification’ will be the audio track for
this feed
· A video explaining the process of sonification: Making Music from a
Solar Eclipse (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hh5kK37KSEE)
· Uses: Embedding in a website, ‘Capturing’ to post on social media,
· More information on the process and score is here:
http://waynegrim.com/sonification-of-the-total-solar-eclipse-august-2017

VIDEO ASSETS:

History of Exploratorium live streaming eclipses video assets:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/pff4mgiyofxdspp/AACMmfVfvCKx3ToZi4xvvpYha?dl=0

All produced videos and older webcast assets for eclipse are here:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B454c-VysX1FSXpIckFvRlpKbGM

PHOTO ASSETS:

Still images here on Google Drive, minus the adobe stock ones:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B7U3S2danZ1DVHNkQUFEOFhJOXc

PRESS RELEASES:

August 14, 2017
Focusing on the Eclipse, Exploratorium Addresses Language Access and
Inclusion in Science
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/press-office/press-releases/focusing-eclipse-exploratorium-addresses-language-access-inclusion)

July 31, 2017
Exploratorium to Host Listening Party for 40th Anniversary Edition of
the Voyager Golden Record
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/press-office/press-releases/exploratorium-host-listening-party-40th-anniversary-edition-voyager)

July 20, 2017
Eclipse Sonification with Kronos Quartet Offers a Chance to Listen to
“Music of the Spheres”
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/press-office/press-releases/eclipse-sonification-kronos-quartet-offers-chance-listen-%E2%80%9Cmusic-spheres%E2%80%9D)

June 20, 2017
Host a Summer Eclipse Party with the Exploratorium’s New Total Solar
Eclipse App
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/press-office/press-releases/host-summer-eclipse-party)

spanish language press release
August 14, 2017
Con el foco puesto en el eclipse, el Exploratorium se ocupa de proveer
oportunidades y acceso a la ciencia para todos.
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/press-office/press-releases/con-el-foco-puesto-en-el-eclipse-el-exploratorium-se-ocupa-de-proveer)

EXPERTS & TALENT

Our experts and talent will be available for phone interviews from the
field on Monday and the weekend before and after the eclipse. Contact
media@exploratorium.edu (mailto:media@exploratorium.edu) for available
windows.

spanish language expert

Isabel Hawkins
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/about/staff/scientists/isabel-hawkins) :
Isabel Hawkins is an astronomer and educator with a PhD in astronomy
from UCLA, and she spent 20 years as a researcher and science educator
at the University of California, Berkeley, Space Sciences Laboratory,
and is a staff scientist at the Exploratorium. She is one of the hosts
for the Exploratorium’s Spanish Language eclipse broadcast and has
experience on television and radio.

english language experts

Rob Semper
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/about/senior-management/robert-semper) :
Rob is Associate Executive Director of the Exploratorium and an
Executive Producer of the eclipse broadcast. Awards include AAAS Fellow,
2006, and the NSTA 2006 Faraday Science Communicator Award. Before
joining the Exploratorium in 1977, Rob taught physics and conducted
solid state and nuclear physics research. He received his PhD in solid
state physics from the Johns Hopkins University and has witnessed
numerous eclipses across the world.

Robyn Higdon
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/about/senior-management/robyn-higdon) :
Robyn has been a Co-Principal Investigator on NSF, NOAA, and NASA
projects, including the Total Solar Eclipse: Stories from the Path of
Totality, and NOAA’s Scientific Residency program. She has received
several Webby and MUSE awards for her work, and is not a stranger to
being on both sides of the camera.

Ron Hipschman:
(https://www.exploratorium.edu/about/staff/scientists/ron-hipschman) Ron
is a physicist who taught undergraduate physics and astronomy for 16
years before joining the Exploratorium. In 1993, Ron established the
museum’s presence on the World Wide Web, making it among the first 600
websites in the world. In 1996, he spearheaded the museum’s experiments
with webcasting (http://www.exploratorium.edu/tv) ; he’s contributed
technical expertise and has hosted many shows, both locally and as far
away as the South Pole.

Nicole Minor: (https://www.exploratorium.edu/arts/staff/nicole-minor)
Nicole is the Director of Moving Images at the Exploratorium. She has
been in the field and helped produce live streams of many eclipses. In
her years at the Exploratorium, Nicole has created both temporary
artworks of her own and supported many artists-in-residence projects
through curated programs and installations.

About the Exploratorium

The Exploratorium is a playful learning laboratory at the apex of
science, art, and transformative education, with a historic impact on
the innovation ecosystem of the San Francisco Bay Area. In addition to a
renowned collection of interactive exhibits that ignite curiosity and
transform the way people learn, Exploratorium is home to a diverse
contemporary art portfolio, an extraordinary teacher-training program,
and a museum development team whose impact reaches from the Golden Gate
Bridge to Palestine. Special Summer hours are Saturday–Thursday (All
Ages) 10:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m., Thursday Evening (Ages 18+) 6:00–10:00 p.m.,
and Friday (All Ages) 10:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m.

Easily accessible by BART and Muni. Ample parking nearby and advance
parking available.

Exploratorium

Pier 15 (Embarcadero at Green Street) • San Francisco • California

(415) 528-4444 • www.exploratorium.edu (http://www.exploratorium.edu)

Image

______________________
If you would rather not receive future communications from
Exploratorium, please go to
http://Exploratorium.pr-optout.com/OptOut.aspx?3232081x24560x28632x1x5362385x24000x6&Email=mhadm%40ucolick.org.
Exploratorium, Pier 17, The Embarcadero #100, San Francisco, CA 94111
United States
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL:
<https://lists.ucolick.org/mailman/private/mhadm/attachments/20170818/7e666e12/attachment.html>
_______________________________________________
https://lists.ucolick.org/mailman/listinfo/mhadm
mhadm@ucolick.org

_______________________________________________

mh-staff@ucolick.org
 
 
 
FAA Safety Team | Safer Skies Through Education

Are You Flying to the Eclipse Path
Notice Number: NOTC7320

Do you plan to fly your aircraft on August 21 during the solar eclipse? If yes, you’re not alone. Several airports located in the path of the eclipse have notified the FAA that they are anticipating a significant increase in air traffic before and during the eclipse. Many of these airports are non-towered and have limited capacity to accommodate an increase in traffic. Here are some tips to fly safe in the path of the eclipse.

  • Use US Chart Supplements (formerly AFD).
  • Check NOTAMs for your departing and arriving airports, including airports along the route of your flight. Remember, some airports may already be at capacity.
  • Call your destination airport, and respect the runway closures and safety information they provide.
  • Expect Unicom congestion, and check for additional instructions on ASOS/AWOS voice over.
  • See and Avoid is a high priority. Watch out for possible drone activity.
  • Utilize Air Traffic Services when available.
  • Use IFR operations when appropriate, file VFR flight plans …. let Air Traffic assist you!

Have some specific questions about an area or airport? The FAASTeam is here to help. Our local FAASTeam Program Managers (FPM) are available to help with local knowledge. Find your local FPM for any given area https://www.faasafety.gov/FAASTApp/directory/default.aspx

For a refresher on non-towered airport communications, click https://www.faasafety.gov/files/notices/2017/Jun/Non-Tower_Airport_Comms.pdf

This notice is being sent to you because you selected "General Information" in your preferences on FAASafety.gov. If you wish to adjust your selections, log into https://www.faasafety.gov/Users/pub/preferences.aspx where you can update your preferences.

Invite a fellow pilot to the next WINGS Safety Seminar in your area.
used for alignment
FAASafety.gov | Email Preferences | Opt Out   
Do not reply to this email as it is an unmonitored mailbox. Contact us for comments or questions.   
 
 

 

 

 Astronomy at College of San Mateo